IDEAS GENERATION / Assignment Progress – logo ok? / Term 3, Week 7

– I felt like the geometrical shapes & clean cuts feel stiff & very corporate, so I decided to add some curves to it.

-It looks like a ribbon turned / twisted. Drawback is that gradient doesnt do very well on fabrics.
-I toned down the gradient a bit because it looked bland with only solid colors.
screenshhotz5

-Experimented with the layout

screenshhotz7
-I picked the blue-yellow one because the yellow-blue version looks detached, due to the gradient on the blue-side being too contrast to the bright yellow.

image

-experimented with softer, more modern colors but I still think the stronger cobalt blue & bright yellowΒ works best

screenshhotz8.png

-I tried making a friendlier looking logo (as suggested) with a more amiable & inviting feel

image

screenshhotz

-I feel like this strayed away from my concept. It does look friendlier and more inviting but I was aiming for a more sophisticated look which looks profe but not so posh that it’d drive people away from it. I aimed for that look due to the fact that capital city doesnt only have to attract people/tourists to visit the city, but also have to encourage investment (take New York vs Washington D.C. as an example) and not so much on the “fun”. My keywords were stability, developed(I was suggested to find a more amicable synonym to this) and pleasant (maybe ‘sophistication’ as well)

This one looks clean as well, but I think the visible shape overlays on the logo makes it look experimental rather than professional.

– why not mix them up though

screenshhotz1

image

-and re arrange them a bit

image

screenshhotz2

-my friend suggsted that the previous placement of type would be better

image

!!!!

I’ve also started working on the postcards and coming up with taglines for the poster.

This postcard series, which I’ve developed digitally (because sketching it out would give no details at all) is the “balik”postcard – You have to turn the postcard over to see the background image (that is masked on the letters) in whole. (image will be on the left side, while right side will be used for writing & stamping)

DRAFT

Sketches on postcard

QC (10/08/2016): Postcard image would be better if its shown directly and not masked / concealed because the purpose is to show (best qualities of) the city & invite people

 

11/08/2016

(Draft) design brief for poster design

20160811_085215.jpg

 

 

12/08/2016

Poster sketches

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Poster DRAFT (digitalised)

QC – The typeface needs to be more dynamic, layout needs adjustment

13/08/2016

(QC Followup on Poster & Postcard)

Postcard: Still masked, but on a bigger area. This follows the “balik papan” (behind the board) concept. Might change the “board”.

colorvar

Color variation

logovar

Logo variation (special occasion, for brochure)

14/08/2016

After days of dissatisfaction with the postcard layout and failed attempts of liking any of them…

I finally came up with something I like.

Using the idea of duality and showing each aspects that Balikpapan has through the postcard series. I still need to design the back of the postcard, but I’m pretty happy about how this one turned out.

Also working on brochure and creating patterns using the logo so I can apply them on the brochure.

Inspirations for city brochure

(22:25) UPDATE ON PATTERN

UPDATE ON PATTERN

Inspiration on geometric patterns

 

Leave a Reply

